Battle of Upper Hutt to decide 2023 Trevor Rigby Cup Winner


Story courtesy of College Sport Media

Hutt International Boys’ School (HIBS) made two finals appearances in 2022 and were runners-up in both. In the Trevor Rigby Cup Final against Wellington College, they were beaten on penalties in the first final to go all the way since Wellington College beat St Patrick’s College, Silverstream on penalties in 2014.

The second defeat for HIBS, saw their historic Nationals campaign end in heartbreak going down 1-0 to Tauranga Boys’ College thanks to an early goal from Jonty Bidois. Tauranga is now unbeaten in 34 consecutive matches.



The loss of key First XI members Sam Rioga, Lucas Jelley, Ben Dudeney and Reagen Kowalczyk were apparent early in grading, needing a late equalizer to draw 1-1 with Hutt Valley High School before suffering defeat to both Rathkeale College and St Pats Silverstream (2-5) in their first meeting of 2023. HIBS rallied to defeat both Kapiti College and Tawa College to book a spot in the 2023 Trevor Rigby Cup.

HIBS started the Trevor Rigby Cup poorly, giving up the lead three times and losing on penalties to Wellington College in a Nationals qualifying fixture. A 0-1 loss to St Pats, Wellington followed a week later.

Whatever coach Jeremy Field said after those two games worked wonders as HIBS went on a seven game unbeaten run, most notably beating high flying Scots College 3-1 and St Pats Silverstream 3-2 with goals from Jamie Read, Harry Lamont and Ethan Bingham. 

St Pats Silverstream have been excellent for much of the season, suffering just three defeats to HIBS and Scots twice (2-1 & 5-4). 

Silverstream won three out of five traditionals, thumping Rongotai (7-2), New Plymouth Boys’ (4-0) and Wellington College (6-1) while they held Palmerston North Boys’ High School (3-3) and St Pats Wellington (1-1) to draws.

Luke Stoupe has been the standout performer for Silverstream, scoring in every single game in the Trevor Rigby Cup. With 17 goals Stoupe leads the Golden Boot ladder with more goals than any of the previous winners. Zander Edwards and Raphael Le’ai scored 14 goals each in 2021 and 2019 respectively.

Fellow striker Isa Prins and Captain Pill Fatialofa have been exceptional for both Silverstream and their club side Stop Out.

Silverstream and HIBS met in an emotionally charged final in 2018 Final, where despite losing two previous games against Silverstream, HIBS emerged 2-0 winners with goals from William Brownlie and Cole Kennedy. HIBS dedicated their victory to befallen student Nathan Watt.

Silverstream’s last final appearance came in 2020 where they went down to Scots College in a 3-2 classic.

Trevor Rigby passed away in 2014. The Trevor Rigby Cup awarded to the winner of the Boys Premier Youth Grade, celebrates his legacy and passion for football in Wellington. A Rongotai College old boy his initial association with College Sport Wellington was as a volunteer member of both the Cricket and Football Management committees where he eventually became chair.



He was critical in contributing to the establishment of protocols and processes that became the foundation for much of College Sports current operational procedures.

Trevor's contribution to College Sport was recognised in 2004 when he was in the inaugural induction into the Distinguished Service to College Sport Award.

A radio commentator Rigby turned up to watch a second grade youth match between Rongotai College and Wellington College to find no referee and no parents able to control the game. It was a situation Rigby, a great supporter of schools sport, would have relished in the past.

Unfortunately, he has recently undergone heart surgery and explained that the only way he could help out was if the teams agreed to him refereeing while standing in the centre circle.

No problem they said, but by half time Rigby was feeling tired - "the mental strain" as he put it. Determined that the boys’ game would not be spoilt, Rigby got some step ladders and controlled the second half while sitting atop them in the centre circle.

Wellington College are the most prolific winners of the title with 13 successes. Silverstream has four and HIBS three. Kick-off is at Petone Memorial at 7:30pm tonight and the match is livestreamed on Huddy Sports.

Premier Final (Kick off 7:30pm): Silverstream vs HIBS 

Premier Reserve Final (Kick off 5:30pm): Paraparaumu vs Kapiti



Article added: Wednesday 23 August 2023


Latest News